Minera – St Mary’s Church
About this Churchyard
St Mary’s is a nineteenth-century church on the site of a seventeenth-century chapel of Wrexham parish which was demolished in 1864. The new church, for a new parish, was built in 1865-6 to designs of Kennedy and Rogers, partly funded by the Minera Mining Company.
The beautiful ancient churchyard is full of wildflowers in the summer such as rough hawkbit, oxeye daisy, bush vetch, meadow vetchling, crosswort and meadow buttercup. There is also quaking grass and glaucous sedge present which are seldom seen in the wider countryside. Woodpeckers and Jackdaws flit among the gravestones and there is a bird hide at the north end of the churchyard.
- Wildflower areas
- Good accessibility
- Peaceful space for quiet reflection
- Wildlife haven
- Memorials with famous or infamous connections
- Stones with stories
- Fascinating monuments
- Great for fungi
- Birders paradise
- Lichen haven
St Mary’s Church
The church is open from 10-4 everyday
The site is wheelchair accessible and there are no steps. Hard surfaced paths are present around the churchyard.
There is interpretation at the entrance
The church has toilets
Parking & Transport
Parking is possible on the road
There is a bus stop a 5 minute walk from the church
There is a pub opposite the church https://www.tyn-y-capel.com/